2003 Award and Induction Ceremony

June 12, 2003 @ Marriott Marquis Hotel, New York City


The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame, the organization dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create popular music around the world, returns for its highly anticipated 34th annual induction and awards dinner, scheduled for Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. In an official statement, Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman/CEO Hal David announced this year's inductees: Phil Collins, Queen, Van Morrison and Little Richard.

“This year’s inductees comprise a global representation, highlighting the universality of music,” commented Hal David. “This event is very special because it's a time when premier songwriters come together to honor their own. We are looking forward to another terrific evening, one of the high points of the year.

The Johnny Mercer Award will be world-renowned songwriter Jimmy Webb, the Hitmaker Award will be awarded to industry icon and the Chairman/CEO of the RCA Music Group, Clive Davis, the recipient of this year's Patron of the Arts Award will be another titan of the industry, the longtime Chairman and CEO of EMI Music Publishing, Martin Bandier and the recipient of the Abe Olman Publisher of the Year Award will be Worldwide Chairman of BMG Music Publishing, Nicholas Firth. National Music Publishers Association CEO Ed Murphy, who was awarded the 2002 Abe Olman Award but was unable to attend last year’s ceremony, will be presented belatedly with his award. The Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award will be given to Patti LaBelle and the 2003 Towering Song Award goes to “I Left My Heart In San Francisco,” written by George C. Cory, Jr. & Douglass Cross and published by Colgems-EMI Music Inc.

Also this year, the Songwriters Hall of Fame will be introducing a new award, the Towering Performance Award. The first recipient is Tony Bennett for his quintessential performance of this year’s Towering Song, “I Left My Heart in San Francisco”.

Hal David also announces the following scheduled presenters and performers for this year's event: Wynonna Judd, Ray Charles, Pink, Billy Joel, Ben Taylor and Berry Gordy. More names will be announced shortly.

This marks the second of a multi-year run with legendary music producer Phil Ramone as Executive Producer and Producer. Phil Ramone Television is also producing the televised special of the event, which will initially be broadcast on the Bravo network again this year, premiering on July 9 at 9:00 PM ET/PT.

Last year, the stars came out to support each other with Sting, Michael Jackson, Randy Newman, Barry Manilow, Nickolas Ashford and Valerie Simpson, Carole King, Garth Brooks, Stevie Wonder, Ed Murphy and Stephen Swid being honored and Trisha Yearwood, Brian McKnight, Rufus Wainwright, Jane Monheit, Joan Osborne, Paul Williams, Joel Grey, Heather Headley, Linda Eder, Jimmy Webb and Peter Cincotti came out to present or perform for their peers.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters' Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Over the course of the past 33 years, some key Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees have included Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Stevie Wonder, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Jim Croce, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, among many, many others.

For ticket information, please contact the Songwriters Hall of Fame office at (212) 957-9230 or via e-mail at .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address).





Little Richard

Van Morrison

Phil Collins

Johnny Mercer Award
Jimmy Webb

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Nicholas Firth

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Patti LaBelle

Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award
Clive Davis

Patron of the Arts Award
Martin Bandier

Towering Song
“I Left My Heart in San Francisco”