Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award


Named for the former President of the Songwriters Hall of Fame, this award is given to individuals or teams who are recognized as having done a great deal to further the successes of songwriters. Past Awardees include Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme, Berry Gordy, Nat King Cole, Quincy Jones and Tony Bennett.


2012 Bette Midler

2006 Peter, Paul & Mary

2005 Les Paul

2004 Neil Sedaka

2003 Patti LaBelle

2002 Stevie Wonder

2001 Gloria & Emilio Estefan

2000 Neil Diamond

1999 Kenny Rogers

1998 Berry Gordy

1997 Vic Damone

1996 Frankie Laine

1995 Steve Lawrence & Eydie Gorme

1994 Lena Horne

1993 Ray Charles

1992 Nat King Cole

1991 Gene Autry

1990 B.B. King

1989 Quincy Jones

1988 Dick Clark

1987 Jerry Wexler

1985 John Hammond

1984 Benny Goodman

1983 Willie Nelson

1982 Dinah Shore

1981 Tony Bennett

1980 Ethel Merman